Header Image blue

Universitat Wurzburg

Project: ESR-5: PhD at Julius Maximilians University of Würzburg, Germany
Topic: Studies of Spin Sensitive Processes in Organic Solar Cells
Researcher (ESR) Ms. Liudmila Kudriashova
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Vladimir Dyakonov
Starting Date: 01-05-2017
End date: 30-04-2020

Studies of Spin Sensitive Processes in Organic Solar Cells

Background information: Organic Solar Cells possess tremendous advantages concerning possible applications and production costs, due to the possibility to print them from ink in a roll-to-roll process. Nevertheless, the power conversion efficiency and the lifetime of the organic semiconductor-based solar cells need to be improved. To overcome these issues, intensive fundamental collaborative research efforts are necessary to clarify the intermediate processes during the conversion process of light into electric energy. Some of these processes involve spin-interactions and need therefore be addressed by spin-sensitive techniques.

ESR5 1Project: Various experiments will be performed that are based on the principles of optical spectroscopy and electron spin resonance. Both, organic semiconductor films, as well as fully processed devices will be studied in a broad temperature range between ambient and cryogenic temperatures. In particular, the intermediate excited states, such as triplets, polarons and charge transfer excitons will be addressed and studied individually within this project. The basic principle is to use the spin of excited states as a probe for their molecular environment to gain further insights into the processes taking place in organic solar cells.

The project will include three secondments (2 or 6 months) at partnering groups at the Université Angers (France), Fundació EURECAT (Spain) and University of Oxford (United Kingdom).

For more information
Please contact Prof. Dr. Vladimir Dyakonov, mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and visit our webpage www.physik.uni-wuerzburg.de/EP6.

The University of Würzburg, home of 6 Nobel prize winners in physics and 5 in chemistry, was founded in 1402. It enrols more than 28,000 students. The Chair of Experimental Physics VI (Energy research) was founded by Prof. V. Dyakonov in 2004, and has since built up an international reputation in fields such as thin-film photovoltaics and spin-related phenomena in semiconductors.